Tara Neale

April 6, 2012

Spanked Princesses: The Pianist by Erika Moran

Filed under: book review,erotica — Tara Neale @ 10:47 am

Image

Title: Spanked Princesses: The Pianist

Author: Erika Moran

Source: Amazon

Price: The bargain basement price of around $1

Heat: Erotica, but not offensive blatant

Rating: Thought-provoking and delightfully refreshing

Genre: Erotica

When I began this review, I was committed to exploring all genres (even though I won’t lie…sci-fi and paranormal are my favorites). So when I was contacted by a writer from my Savvy Authors group about her erotica, I thought ‘what the heck?’ I’m not a prude by any means and have even written some pretty naughty stuff under another pen name. But what I found when I opened this e-file was shocking, amazing and delightful. This is absolutely the best erotica I have ever read.

Spanked Princesses: The Pianist is the story of a very young trophy wife, Kristina, who has a bit of an attitude problem. She is proud, haughty and arrogant towards others. Matters come to a head when another piano teacher quits after Kristina says some cruel things to her. Her husband, Jack, is not at all what readers might think of as ‘the older man.’ In his early forties, he is still too hot to handle with long hair that clashes with his Armani image. And there is no ex-wife that he tossed aside for his trophy. His first is dead, and he cared deeply for her, just as he cares for Kristina. In fact, the piano lessons are about the memories of his first wife, who played beautifully.

If this book breaks all of the stereotypes of older men/younger women, it does so even more for the complex issue of discipline or spanking. Kristina first learns of the joys of spanking, not from Jack but from a friend whose husband ‘corrects’ her. She finds it liberating, a concept that escapes Kristina at first. Jack, on the other hand, is a man with a deeply hidden secret. A top (dominate personality) who has hidden that side of himself from his new wife. The journey of discovery…and yes, love…that takes this couple to a new level of intimacy is breathtaking.

Ms. Moran is a powerful writer whose use of dialogue to drive the story is a thing of beauty. One of the most refreshing things about this book is it use of ‘common language’; it reads the way we speak. That makes it an enjoyable and easy read for almost everyone. At the same time, the author introduces readers to the often misunderstood world of dom/sub and discipline in a compassionate and realistic manner. This book is much more than it appears on the surface with themes of love and loss, acceptance and rejection, and self-discovery. It is a journey into the complex nature of humanity itself.

You know me, I always have to find something to ‘complain’ about, because we all know that nothing is perfect. In this story, the only that was hard was for me as an older woman to identify with the heroine. I kept thinking…she’s acting like a child because she is one. I also found myself thinking…she needs a good spanking. But then I realized that what I was doing was identifying with Jack instead…and I have to admit I got a bit curious about my own nature. Is there a hidden dom in me? How would I handle a boy toy? What about this story…in reverse?

The best way to read this book…is as a couple.  Guys, if your wife loves a good romance, but you have always longed for her to try something a bit more…buy her this book. Girls, if you love a good romance novel, the racier the better, then step over the line and explore yourself a little deeper. Grab your Kindle and the two of you snuggle under the covers with this erotic journey of a couple pushing the boundaries of love and intimacy. Then perhaps take a page from their book…talk about it, laugh about it and maybe even try a bit of it. Who knows where it might lead?

Next week, I bring out the beast of a different kind in the paranormal, shape-shifter romance Coyote Gorgeous by Vijaya Schatz.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

